ONLINE CONFERENCE

Institute for Artistic Research
at Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF
presents

International GEECT Conference

Transversal Entanglement Artistic Research
in Film

June 3 to 5, 2021

Registration ends on May 26.

Profound Transformations

In the current transformation of our networked societies, the audiovisual media are going through a series of profound transformations. New media forms and technologies, new ways of distribution and reception are changing the filmic arts and their professional profiles. New digital possibilities put the classic cinema space into perspective.

Filmic narratives and imageries are shaping reality under new auspices. Artistic research in the medium of film reflects and co-designs this change in its relationship to social politics and economics, science and tech development.

The conference aims to discuss forms and topics of filmic artistic research.

  • How do questions and researching approaches look like in the medium of film?
  • How do the procedures, contents and methods vary in the various filmic forms and technologies?
  • Which experiments, thought processes and propositions shape the world of possibilities?
  • What is the specific knowledge of the cinematic media forms and how does it differ from the knowledge of the sciences and technologies but also of the other art forms?
  • How do discourses, narratives and imageries in film and its expanded media forms build on technological innovations? And how do they continue these developments artistically?
  • What does research thought and practice mean for the actors in the various crafts in film?
  • And how is artistic research in film shaping up for analog and digital spaces "after the cinema" (Godard)?

Artistic Research in Film

Artistic research is an independent way of research by means of the arts. It works in its own languages, employs its own tools and procedures and follows its own criteria. It combines discursive and non-discursive processes and results and it initiates new dialogues between the knowledge cultures. In a broad European discourse over the last 30 years, profiles and processes of artistic research have been discussed as well as its institutional framework.

An vielen Kunst- und Filmhochschulen in Europa wird die künstlerische Forschung bereits gezielt ausgebaut, an anderen werden erste Programme gerade etabliert. Vor dem Hintergrund dieser Dynamik veranstaltet das IKF Institut für künstlerische Forschung der Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF in Kooperation mit GEECT, dem Erich Pommer Institut und dem UNESCO Creative City of Film Potsdam vom 3. bis 5. Juni 2021 die internationale Konferenz Transversal Entanglement – Artistic Research in Film. Die Konferenz findet online statt. Als Gäste erwarten wir Filmschaffende aus den 93 Filmschulen in 34 europäischen Ländern, die zur Zeit GEECT-Mitglieder sind und weitere Expert*innen aus der Region Berlin-Brandenburg und dem deutschen Raum.

IKF Institute for Artistic Research

Das IKF is the center for artistic research at the Babelsberg Film University. As an active discourse platform, the IKF takes on an integrating and impulse-giving role. It supports artistic research in audiovisual media and strengthens the development of a transdisciplinary research culture. The IKF actively contributes to the networking of researchers at the film university and, with its external partners, is an interface to international fields of discourse and practice. It captures and promotes the potential of film and media arts for development and innovation. With its activities, the IKF aims at the future viability of the cinematic disciplines in the digital and societal transformation. The IKF is headed by the professors Gesa Marten, Daniela Schlütz and Stefan Winter.

Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF

The Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF is a place where film comes alive, a school representing a wealth of different stories and artistic forms, genres and formats, specialization and exchange. Our unique craft-oriented and interdisciplinary education enables creative people to develop their own filmic language. In research and teaching, we focus on both artistic and scientific approaches and thus actively contribute to the development of media, art, science, and society. Film University annually hosts Sehsüchte, the largest student film festival in Europe.

GEECT Groupement Européen des Ecoles de Cinéma et de Télévision

GEECT is the European section of the worldwide umbrella organization of film and television schools CILECT (Centre International de Liaison des Ecoles de Cinéma et de Télévision). CILECT members are 180 institutions with more than 10,000 teachers from 65 countries on all continents.

GEECT represents 93 institutions in 34 countries. The association strengthens teaching and research in the field of audiovisual media, film and television. It fosters the cooperation between film schools and the dialogue with the film and media industry.

EPI Erich Pommer Institute

The Erich Pommer Institute (EPI) is one of the leading providers of advanced training in the German and European media landscape and a recognised industry-specific think tank. With its expertise in media law and management and with a variety of formats and publications, the EPI supports the on-going process of digital transformation in the media industry. The Erich Pommer Institute was founded in Potsdam-Babelsberg in 1998 as an independent non-profit limited company and is an institute affiliated with the Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF and the University of Potsdam.

UNESCO Creative City of Film Potsdam

The UNESCO Cities of Film Network is part of the broader UNESCO Creative Cities Network. Potsdam is the first German city to be designated a UNESCO Creative City of Film. Since its founding in 1912, the studios in Potsdam Babelsberg have been the oldest large-scale film studio in the world and the cradle of German cinema. World classics such as METROPOLIS by Fritz Lang and THE BLUE ANGEL with Marlene Dietrich were filmed here. Today, international feature films such as INGLOURIOUS BASTERDS and GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL are produced on the studio lot.

... and here the Moderators.

Jeanne Faust
Vita

Jeanne Faust works as an artist with different media, so there are film and video works, installations, photo series, texts. Her films are shown at short film festivals (e.g. Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen, International Filmfestival Rotterdam, Belo Horizonte International Short Film Festival, Berlinale) as well as in exhibition contexts (e.g. Biennale Sao Paulo 2006, Manifesta4, Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst 2007, Kunsthalle Hamburg, K21 Düsseldorf, Camera Austria Graz, Kölnischer Kunstverein, Frankfurter Kunstverein, Taxispalais Innsbruck). Since 2009 she is professor for Mixed Media in the department of Time-based Media at the HfBK Hamburg University of Fine Arts.

Jeanne at HfBK

Sirko Knüpfer
Vita

Sirko Knüpfer studied at the Glasgow School of Art and Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design. With the artist collective Henry VIII’s Wives he exhibited widely, including the Stedelijk, PS1, The Slade and more. He worked with Sasha Waltz & Guests and collaborated with many Berlin artists. Since 2009 he collaborates with choreographer Paula E. Paul in the collective KOMBINAT. At the Film University Babelsberg he teaches in the editing department. His research at the Film University focuses on modes of expressions in time and space observed in media and live.

KOMBINAT

Christine Lang
Vita

Christine Lang is author and dramaturge, filmmaker and cultural scientist. She works, researches and teaches in theory and practice, in contexts of film as well as theater. Numerous publications on dramaturgy and aesthetics, as a contribution to practice-based film and narrative research. It is also about making artistic knowledge productive for scientific discourse. She teaches at at the Academy of Music and Theatre in Leipzig and at the Film University Babelsberg.

Website

Karen Pearlman
Vita

Dr. Karen Pearlman writes, directs and edits screen productions. She researches creative practice, cognition and feminist film histories. The films of her trilogy about Soviet women editors have, between them, won 3 best editing awards, and 5 best documentary awards from guilds and festivals around the world. Karen’s book ‘Cutting Rhythms’ is a widely used textbook on editing now in its 2nd edition. She is a senior lecturer in Screen Production and Practice at Macquarie University in Sydney, and a recipient of the 2019 Australian Award for University Teaching Citation.

Website

Szilvia Ruszev
Vita

Szilvia Ruszev is a film editor, media artist and scholar working across different media. Her research interest focuses on sensuous knowledge, expanded montage theories and the politics of post-cinema. Her award-winning work has been part of numerous international film festivals and exhibitions such as Karlovy Vary IFF, Toronto IFF, Berlin IFF, Siggraph and Codame. Currently,  she is pursuing a Ph.D. degree in Media Arts + Practice in the School of Cinematic Arts at the USC University of Southern California.

Website

Stefan Schwietert
Vita

Stefan Schwietert was born in 1961 and grew up in Therwil/Switzerland. After studying directing at the German Film and Television Academy in Berlin, he specialized in making documentaries on music and society. The films were shown internationally in cinemas and reached a total of several hundred thousand moviegoers. Schwietert's work has received numerous awards. Work shows of his films took place in Europe, Latin America and the USA. Since 2015, Stefan Schwietert is professor for documentary film directing at Film University Babelsberg.

Katja Straub
Vita

Katja Straub is an artist, writer, and award winning filmmaker whose work has screened internationally including the Museum of Modern Art NYC, the Images Festival Toronto, Viper Basel, the Internationale Hofer Filmtage etc. She holds an MFA in Film from the University of Texas in Austin and graduated in Experimental Media from the Berlin University of the Arts. Exploring different art forms over the years, from painting to video installation to film, Katja seeks to find images to represent the invisible. She currently teaches Film Acting at Film University Babelsberg.

Website

Elisabeth Brun
Vita

Elisabeth Brun is a media researcher and filmmaker, working in the intersection between philosophy, cinema and art/design. Brun holds a PhD in media studies from the University of Oslo and has a background as a documentary director in Public Service Broadcasting TV (NRK 2001-2014). Her current work takes different forms (academic texts, films, video installations) and explores questions of form, of human/environment and the potentialities and limitations of image technology, for perception and knowledge creation. Of recent awards/grants she received The Ivan Juritz Prize for Creative Experiment 2020 and currently she is a guest researcher at Filmuniversität Babelsberg.

Website

Graphic Recording

© Angelika Huber

The Art of Listening. Throughout the conference Christiane Büchner will make drawings inspired by the presentations and discussions. They can be downloaded in the Entrance Hall of the website by the participants of the conference.

Artistic Processes and Discourses

The focus is on Case Studies, in which renowned filmmakers present their artistic research work. Moderated plenary discussions will reflect on work processes and discourses and break-out rooms will also offer to smaller groups of participants the opportunity to exchange views and build networks.

The Site-Specific Film research group is building a physical centre for the digital conference: the "Conference Stand". Here the group presents - on site and online - 20 filmic works that are being developed specifically for this setting. The installation architecture picks up on core ideas of the conference and creates a place for relaxed thinking and a focus/defocus on artistic research in film. The "Conference Stand" serves Transversal Entanglement as main stage, showcase and break room.

Site-Specific Film Group

The research group Site-Specific Film under the direction of Prof. Marlis Roth consists of 15-20 students and staff of Film University. The group regularly create cinematic and installative works for major public art exhibitions.

Conference Team

If you have any questions about the conference, please email us

Prof. Gesa Marten
Chair
Vita

Gesa Marten is an editor, dramatic advisor and professor at Film University Babelsberg who has edited over 60 films with a focus on documentaries. Her background is media studies and video art practice. She was nominated for Best Editing at the German Television Awards and for Best Editing at the German Camera Award for three films. She received the Filmplus Editing Prize for WAS LEBST DU? in 2005 and for PERESTROIKA in 2009. Gesa is a member of the Oscar Academy, the European Film Academy and the German Film Academy.

Prof. Dr. Stefan Winter
Chair
Vita

Stefan Winter is a philosopher, author, Honorary Professor for Artistic Research at Film University Babelsberg and Visiting Professor for Artistic Research at University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg. He did his research and teaching as Senior Lecturer and Visiting Professor at universities and art schools in Basel, Berlin, Braunschweig, Düsseldorf, Helsinki, Perugia and Potsdam. Numerous publications on all epochs in the history of knowledge and on present-day questions across the disciplines.

Jun.-Prof. Dr.
Christine Reeh-Peters 
Vita

Christine Reeh-Peters is a film director, author and philosopher; junior professor for theory and practice of artistic research in digital media at the Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF; many years producer and founder of the film production company C.R.I.M. (Lisbon). As a filmmaker and thinker, she explores the complexity of "reality" and the connections between philosophy and art, narrative and image. Internationally acclaimed documentary films and publications in the field of film philosophy.

Prof. Marlis Roth
sdfsdf
Vita

Marlis Roth is Professor of Nonlinear Forms at the Babelsberg Film University. Since 1990 her audiovisual and installation work focuses on stillness and the onset of movement. A central interest is the observation of the presence and positioning of moving images in space. 2016, she initiated Site-Specific Film, a research group that exchanges filmic ideas in selected spaces.

Dr. Juliane Schiffers
Management
Vita

Juliane Schiffers is managing director of the Institute for Artistic Research, Film University Babelsberg. After studying philosophy and theatre studies, she researched and taught at the Institute of Philosophy, FU Berlin, where she received her PhD with a study on thinking passivity in Aristotle, Leibniz, and Heidegger. She worked as acquisitions editor at De Gruyter publisher, was responsible for the biennial theme ‘Leibniz: the task of visions’ at Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, and coordinated a collaborative research proposal on the intervening force of contemporary arts.

Angelina Urbanczyk
student support
Vita

Angelina Urbanczyk studies her Masters in screenwriting/dramaturgy at the Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF. Apart from occasional engagements in the field of production or directing, her main interest is writing for feature and animated films, radio plays, music, experimental or installation projects. In 2019, together with her team, she received the IKF Artistic Research Award for her project "In Blue".

Klara Otto
student support
Vita

Klara Otto is a Master student in Film and Television Production at Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf. After her Bachelor's degree in International Business and a second BA one in media and communications science, Klara returned to her hometown of Potsdam for her Master's degree. Visits to the Potsdam Film Museum in an early age sparked the wish to be part of the magic of film making.

Partners

CILECT Logo
City of Film Potsdam Logo

Host

IKF Logo
Film University Logo

ONLINE KONFERENZ

Das IKF institut für Künstlerische Forschung
der Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf
präsentiert:

Die Internationale GEECT Konferenz

Transversal Entanglement Artistic Research
in Film

3. bis 5. Juni 2021

Registrierung schließt am 26. Mai.

Tiefgreifende Transformation

Im aktuellen Wandel unserer vernetzten Gesellschaften gehen die audiovisuellen Medien durch eine tiefgreifende Transformation. Neue mediale Formen und Technologien, neue Wege der Distribution  und Rezeption verändern die Filmkunst und ihre Berufsbilder. Neue digitale Möglichkeiten relativieren den klassischen Kinoraum.

Die Erzählungen und Bildwelten des Films entwerfen  Wirklichkeit unter neuen Vorzeichen. Die künstlerische Forschung im Medium Film trägt unverzichtbar dazu bei, diesen Wandel in seinem Verhältnis zu Ökonomie und Politik, Wissenschaft und Technologieentwicklung zu reflektieren und zu gestalten.

Die Konferenz hat das Ziel, Formen filmkünstlerischer Forschung zu diskutieren.

  • Wie sehen Fragestellungen und forschende Ansätze im Medium Film aus?
  • Wie variieren die Verfahren, Inhalte und Methoden in den verschiedenen filmischen Formen und Technologien?
  • Welche Experimente, Denkprozesse und Aussagen prägen die Welt der Möglichkeiten?
  • Worin besteht das spezifische Wissen der filmischen Medienformen und worin unterscheidet es sich von dem Wissen der Wissenschaften und der Technologien aber auch der anderen Kunstformen?
  • Wie setzen im Film und seinen erweiterten medialen Formen Diskurse, Narrationen und Bildwelten auf technologische Neuerungen auf? Und wie führen sie diese Entwicklungen künstlerisch fort?
  • Was bedeutet forschendes Denken und Handeln für die Akteur*innen der verschiedenen Gewerke im Film?
  • Und wie gestaltet sich künstlerische Forschung im Film für analoge und digitale Räume “nach dem Kino” (Godard)?

Künstlerische Forschung im Film

Künstlerische Forschung ist eine eigenständige Art der Forschung mit den Mitteln der Kunst. Sie arbeitet in ihren eigenen Sprachen, setzt ihre eigenen Werkzeuge und Verfahren ein und folgt ihren eigenen Kriterien. Sie verbindet diskursive und nicht-diskursive Prozesse und Ergebnisse, und sie bringt neue Dialoge zwischen den Wissenskulturen auf den Weg. In einem breiten europäischen Diskurs wurden in den letzten 30 Jahren Profile und Prozesse künstlerischer Forschung ebenso diskutiert wie ihre institutionellen Rahmenbedingungen.

An vielen Kunst- und Filmhochschulen in Europa wird die künstlerische Forschung bereits gezielt ausgebaut, an anderen werden erste Programme gerade etabliert. Vor dem Hintergrund dieser Dynamik veranstaltet das IKF Institut für künstlerische Forschung der Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF in Kooperation mit GEECT, dem Erich Pommer Institut und dem UNESCO Creative City of Film Potsdam vom 3. bis 5. Juni 2021 die internationale Konferenz Transversal Entanglement – Artistic Research in Film. Die Konferenz findet online statt. Als Gäste erwarten wir Filmschaffende aus den 93 Filmschulen in 34 europäischen Ländern, die zur Zeit GEECT-Mitglieder sind und weitere Expert*innen aus der Region Berlin-Brandenburg und dem deutschen Raum.

IKF Institut für künstlerische Forschung

Das IKF ist das Zentrum für künstlerische Forschung an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg. Als aktive Diskursplattform nimmt das IKF eine integrierende und impulsgebende Rolle ein. Es unterstützt die künstlerische Forschung in den audiovisuellen Medien und stärkt die Entwicklung einer transdisziplinären Forschungskultur. Das IKF trägt aktiv zur Vernetzung der Forschenden an der Filmuniversität bei und ist mit seinen externen Partner*innen eine Schnittstelle zu internationalen Diskurs- und Praxisfeldern. Es erfasst und fördert die Potenziale der Film- und Medienkünste für Entwicklung und Innovation. Mit seinen Aktivitäten zielt das IKF auf die Zukunftsfähigkeit der filmischen Disziplinen im digitalen und gesellschaftlichen Wandel. Das IKF wird von den Professor*innen Gesa Marten, Daniela Schlütz und Stefan Winter geleitet.

Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF

Die Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF ist ein lebendiger Ort des Films, sie steht für eine Vielfalt an Stoffen und Formen, Genres und Formaten, für Spezialisierung und Austausch. In unserer einzigartigen gewerkeorientierten und interdisziplinären Ausbildung entwickeln kreative Persönlichkeiten ihre filmische Haltung. Wir lehren und forschen sowohl künstlerisch als auch wissenschaftlich und gestalten damit die Entwicklung der Medien, der Kunst, der Wissenschaft und der Gesellschaft aktiv mit. Die Filmuniversität veranstaltet jährlich die Sehsüchte, das größte studentische Filmfestival Europas.

GEECT Groupement Européen des Ecoles de Cinéma et de Télévision

GEECT ist die europäische Sektion des weltweiten Dachverbands der Film- und Fernsehhochschulen CILECT (Centre International de Liaison des Ecoles de Cinéma et de Télévision). CILECT Mitglieder sind 180 Institutionen mit mehr als 10,000 Lehrenden aus 65 Ländern aller Kontinente.

GEECT repräsentiert 93 Institutionen in 34 Ländern. Der Verband stärkt die Lehre und Forschung in den audiovisuellen Medien und im Film. Er unterstützt die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Film- und Fernsehhochschulen und den Dialog mit der Medienbranche.

EPI Erich Pommer Institut

Das EPI ein Institut für Medienrecht, Medienwirtschaft und Medienforschung mit Sitz in Babelsberg, es ist ein An-Institut der Filmuniversität Babelsberg und der Universität Potsdam. Das EPI entwickelt Lösungen für die Medienwirtschaft, die Medienpolitik und die Medienbildung auf wissenschaftlicher Basis und vor dem Hintergrund der Medienkonvergenz. Das Institut organisiert national und international Weiterbildungen, erstellt unabhängige Gutachten und Studien und berät Unternehmen, Verbände und Institutionen.

UNESCO Creative City of Film Potsdam

Das UNESCO Cities of Film Network ist Teil des umfassenderen UNESCO Creative Cities Network Potsdam ist die erste deutsche Stadt, die zur UNESCO Creative City of Film ernannt wurde. Die Studios in Potsdam Babelsberg sind seit ihrer Gründung 1912 das älteste Großaltelier-Filmstudio der Welt und die Wiege des deutschen Films. Weltklassiker wie METROPOLIS von Fritz Lang und DER BLAUE ENGEL mit Marlene Dietrich wurden hier gedreht. Heute werden auf dem Studiogelände u.a. internationale Kinofilme wie INGLOURIOUS BASTERDS oder GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL hergestellt.

… und hier die Moderator*innen.

Jeanne Faust
Vita

Jeanne Faust arbeitet als Künstlerin mit verschiedenen Medien, so gibt es Film und Videoarbeiten, Installationen, Fotoserien, Texte. Ihre Filme werden sowohl auf Kurzfilmfestivals (Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen, International Filmfestival Rotterdam, Belo Horizonte International Shortfilmfestival, Berlinale u.a.) gezeigt, als auch in Ausstellungskontexten (z.B. Biennale Sao Paulo 2006, Manifesta4, Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst 2007, Kunsthalle Hamburg, K21 Düsseldorf, Camera Austria Graz, Kölnischer Kunstverein, Frankfurter Kunstverein, Taxispalais Innsbruck). Seit 2009 ist sie Professorin für Mixed Media im Bereich Zeitbezogene Medien der HfBK Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg.

Jeanne at HfBK

Sirko Knüpfer
Vita

Sirko Knüpfer studierte an der Glasgow School of Art und der Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe. Mit dem Künstlerkollektiv Henry VIII's Wives war er viele Jahre im internationalen Kunstkontext präsent. In Berlin arbeitete er mit verschiedenen Künstler*innen wie Sasha Waltz, Penelope Wehrli u.a. 2009 begann die bis heute andauernde künstlerische Zusammenarbeit mit der Choreografin Paula E. Paul. An der Filmuniversität Babelsberg lehrt er im Studiengang Montage. Seine Forschung an der Filmuniversität konzentriert sich auf nonverbale Ausdrucksformen im medialen Raum und filmischer Zeit.

KOMBINAT

Christine Lang
Vita

Christine Lang ist Autorin und Dramaturgin, Filmemacherin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin. Sie arbeitet, forscht und lehrt in Theorie und Praxis, in Kontexten des Films sowie des Theaters. Zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen zu Dramaturgie und Ästhetik, als Beitrag zu einer praxisbasierten Film- und Erzählforschung. Ihr geht es unter anderem darum, spezifisch künstlerisches Wissen in wissenschaftlichen Kontexten produktiv zu machen. Lehre an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Leipzig und an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg.

Website

Karen Pearlman
Vita

Dr. Karen Pearlman schreibt, führt Regie und montiert Filme. Sie forscht zu kreativer Praxis, Kognition und feministischer Filmgeschichte. Die Filme ihrer Trilogie über sowjetische Editorinnen haben zusammen 3 Preise für den besten Schnitt und 5 Preise für den besten Dokumentarfilm von Verbänden und Festivals auf der ganzen Welt gewonnen. Karens Buch 'Cutting Rhythms' ist ein weitverbreitetes Lehrbuch zu Filmschnitt, das bereits in der zweiten Auflage erschienen ist. Sie ist Dozentin für Filmproduktion und -praxis an der Macquarie University in Sydney und wurde 2019 mit dem australischen Preis für Hochschullehre ausgezeichnet.

Website

Szilvia Ruszev
Vita

Szilvia Ruszev ist eine medienübergreifend arbeitende Filmeditorin, Medienkünstlerin und Akademikerin. Ihr Forschungsinteresse konzentriert sich auf sinnliches Wissen, erweiterte Montagetheorien und die Politiken des “post-cinema". Ihre künstlerischen Arbeiten waren Teil zahlreicher internationaler Filmfestivals und Ausstellungen so wie Karlovy Vary IFF, Toronto IFF, Berlin IFF, Siggraph und Codame. Derzeit promoviert sie in Media Arts + Practice an der School of Cinematic Arts an der USC University of Southern California.

Website

Stefan Schwietert
Vita

Stefan Schwietert wurde 1961 geboren und ist in Therwil/Schweiz aufgewachsen. Nach seinem Regiestudium an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin spezialisierte er sich auf die Realisierung von Dokumentarfilmen zu Musik und Gesellschaft. Die Filme liefen international in den Kinos und erreichten insgesamt mehrere Hunderttausend Kinozuschauer. Schwieterts Arbeiten wurden vielfach ausgezeichnet. Es fanden Werkschauen seiner Filme in Europa, Lateinamerika und den USA statt. Seit 2015 ist Stefan Schwietert Professor für Dokumentarfilmregie an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg.

Katja Straub
Vita

Katja Straub begab sich auf die Suche nach Bildern, die das Unsichtbare sichtbar machen. Ihr Weg führte sie von Malerei über Videoinstallationen zum Film. Sie studierte Experimentelle Mediengestaltung an der Universität der Künste in Berlin und Regie an der University of Texas in Austin, USA. Katjas Filme wurden auf zahlreichen internationalen Filmfestivals und in Museen gezeigt, darunter: Museum of Modern Art in New York City, Images Festival Toronto, Viper Basel, Int. Hofer Filmtage u.a. Derzeit unterrichtet sie Filmschauspiel an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg.

Website

Elisabeth Brun
Vita

Elisabeth Brun ist Medienforscherin und Filmemacherin; sie arbeitet an der Schnittstelle zwischen Philosophie, Kino und Kunst/Design. Brun ist Doktor der Medienwissenschaft (Universität Oslo) und hat einen Hintergrund als Dokumentarfilmregisseurin im öffentlich-rechtlichen Fernsehen (NRK 2001-2014). Ihre aktuelle Arbeit nimmt verschiedene Formen an (akademische Texte, Filme, Videoinstallationen) und erforscht Fragen der Form, von Mensch/Umwelt und von Möglichkeiten und Grenzen der Bildtechnologie für Wahrnehmung und Wissensbildung. Sie wurde jüngst mit dem Ivan Juritz Preis für kreatives Experiment 2020 ausgezeichnet. Derzeit ist sie Gastwissenschaftlerin an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg.

Website

Graphic Recording

© Angelika Huber

The Art of Listening. Während der Konferenz wird Christiane Büchner inspiriert von den Präsentationen und Diskussionen Zeichnungen anfertigen. Sie können in der Entrance Hall der Website von den Teilnehmer*innen der Konferenz heruntergeladen werden.

Künstlerische Prozesse und Diskurse

Im Mittelpunkt der Konferenz stehen Case Studies, in denen renommierte Filmschaffende ihre künstlerisch forschende Arbeit vorstellen. In moderierten Plenumsdiskussionen werden Arbeitsprozesse und Diskurse reflektiert und Break-out Rooms bieten kleineren Gruppen der Teilnehmenden die Möglichkeit, inhaltliche Positionen auszutauschen und Netzwerke aufzubauen.

Die Forschungsgruppe Site-Specific Film baut der digitalen Konferenz ein physisches Zentrum, den „Conference Stand“. Sie präsentiert an der Filmuniversität – vor Ort und online – 20 filmische Arbeiten, die speziell für diesen Rahmen entwickelt werden. Die Installationsarchitektur greift Kernideen der Konferenz auf und kreiert einen Ort für entspanntes Denken und die Fokussierung/ Defokussierung auf künstlerische Forschung im Film. Der „Conference Stand“ dient Transversal Entanglement als Main Stage, Showcase und Pausenraum.

Forschungsgruppe Site-Specific Film

Die Forschungsgruppe Site-Specific Film unter der Leitung von Prof. Marlis Roth setzt sich aus 15-20 Studierenden und Lehrenden der Filmuniversität Babelsberg zusammen. Sie erarbeitet regelmäßig filmische und installative Arbeiten für Festivals und große öffentliche Kunstausstellungen.

Konferenzteam

Bei Fragen zur Konferenz mailen Sie uns bitte.

Prof. Gesa Marten
Leitung
Vita

Gesa Marten ist Editorin, Dramaturgin und Professorin an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg und hat über 60 Filme mit Schwerpunkt Dokumentarfilm montiert. Ihr Hintergrund ist Medienwissenschaft und Videokunstpraxis. Sie wurde beim Deutschen Fernsehpreis und beim Deutschen Kamerapreis mehrfach für den Besten Schnitt nominiert. Den Filmplus-Schnittpreis erhielt sie 2005 für WAS LEBST DU? und 2009 für PERESTROIKA. Gesa ist Mitglied der Oscar Academy, der Europäischen Filmakademie und der Deutschen Filmakademie.

Prof. Dr. Stefan Winter
Leitung
Vita

Stefan Winter ist Philosoph, Autor, Honorarprofessor für künstlerische Forschung an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg und Gastprofessor für künstlerische Forschung an der University of the Witwatersrand Johannesburg. Forschung und Lehre an Universitäten und Kunsthochschulen in Basel, Berlin, Braunschweig, Düsseldorf, Helsinki, Perugia and Potsdam. Zahlreiche Publikationen zu allen Epochen der Wissensgeschichte und zu Gegenwartsfragen quer durch die Wissensfelder.

Jun.-Prof. Dr.
Christine Reeh-Peters 
Vita

Christine Reeh-Peters ist Filmregisseurin, Autorin und Philosophin; Juniorprofessorin für Theorie und Praxis künstlerischer Forschung in digitalen Medien an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg; Produzentin und Gründerin der Filmproduktionsfirma C.R.I.M. (Lissabon). Als Filmemacherin und Denkerin erforscht sie die Komplexität von "Realität" und die Verbindungen zwischen Philosophie und Kunst, Narration und Bild. International beachtete Dokumentarfilme und Publikationen im Bereich der Filmphilosophie.

Prof. Marlis Roth
sdfsdf
Vita

Marlis Roth ist Professorin für Nonlineare Formen an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg. Seit 1990 arbeitet sie audiovisuell und installativ. Im Fokus ihrer Arbeit stehen der Moment in dem Bilder in Bewegung geraten bzw. zum Stillstand kommen so wie die Beobachtung von deren Anwesenheit und Positionierung im Raum. 2016 initiierte sie mit Site-Specific Film eine Forschungsgruppe, die sich in ausgewählten Räumen filmisch begegnet.

Dr. Juliane Schiffers
Geschäftsführung
Vita

Juliane Schiffers ist Geschäftsführerin des Instituts für künstlerische Forschung an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg. Sie studierte Philosophie und Theaterwissenschaft, forschte und lehrte am Institut für Philosophie der FU Berlin und promovierte dort zum Denken von Passivität bei Aristoteles, Leibniz und Heidegger. Sie war Lektorin bei De Gruyter, verantwortete das Jahresthema zu Leibniz an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und koordinierte einen Forschungsverbundantrag zur intervenierenden Kraft der Gegenwartskünste.

Angelina Urbanczyk
studentische Unterstützung
Vita

Angelina Urbanczyk studiert im MA Drehbuch/Dramaturgie an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF. Neben gelegentlichen Ausflügen in die Produktion oder Regie schreibt sie im Moment vor allem, und zwar für Spiel- und Animationsfilme, fühlt sich aber mindestens genauso in der Welt der Hörspiele, des Songwritings oder der experimentellen und installativen Projekte zuhause. 2019 erhielt sie zusammen mit ihrem Team für das Projekt "In Blau" den Förderpreis für künstlerische Forschung des IKF.

Klara Otto
studentische Unterstützung
Vita

Klara Otto ist Studentin im Masterstudiengang Film- und Fernsehproduktion an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf. Nach einem Bachelor in International Business und einem weiteren BA in Medien- und Kommunikationswissenschaft, ist Klara für ihr Masterstudium in ihre Heimatstadt zurückgekehrt. Als Kind haben Ausflüge ins Potsdamer Filmmuseum schon früh ihren Wunsch geweckt, Teil der Magie des Filmemachens zu sein.

Partner*innen

CILECT Logo
City of Film Potsdam Logo

Veranstalter*in

IKF Logo
Film University Logo